Post Op Ups and Downs

It has been 5 days since my latest trip to surgery land. At the end of the week the doctor will remove the bolster dressings. Right now I can’t see what the new nips look like. Fine with me. It takes a while before things calm down and start to look normal. I can wait.

I reminded myself that healing takes time just this morning as I was getting cleaned up. Since the bolster dressings need to remain dry, I’ve been extra-careful in the shower. But those lovely markings made by the surgeon’s purple Sharpie did not want to come off. I worked on them very gently today  with baby wipes and that is when I noticed an unpleasant squishy feeling in the left breast. There is no mistaking the feel and sound, yes sound, of excess fluid trapped under the skin.

Blech. Probably a seroma forming. It’s the most common complication from any type of breast surgery. Most seromas resolve on their own as the body slowly reabsorbs the trapped fluid. This can take up to a year. Sometimes this excess fluid can become infected or begins to get so large that it has to be drained surgically. Double blech.

I wonder if chocolate is good for a seroma?

Valrhona – a classic chocolate and one of my all time favorites.

2 comments on “Post Op Ups and Downs

  1. I’ve never tried that chocolate…or heard of it! Heal well…..

  2. Lee Asbell says:

    Thanks, Heather. I fell in love with Valrhona on a visit to the south of France. A good place to buy it here in the states is Trader Joe’s.

Leave a Reply

