Breast Cancer, Ovarian Cancer and no more Spanx

Here’s today’s jumble of thoughts related to ongoing cancer adventures in my world.

A big shout out and good karma for my friend Diana undergoing lumpectomy today. Welcome to the crappy pink ribbon club.

Too busy looking fabulous to let breast cancer get in her way.

A sigh of relief as my relation with ovarian cancer is finally home from the hospital after yet another extensive surgical adventure. There’s nothing like one’s own bed, comfort food and purring kitties to speed the healing process. I am also quite selfishly glad that my ovaries and tubes are no longer around to cause trouble.  To my former parts I quote Monty Python: “I fart in your general direction,” which after two weeks in gut-crushing Spanx is probably dangerous.

Last but not least, I have released myself from the evil of said Spanx now that I’ve hit the two-week post-op mark. Still very sore, bruised and swollen. My midsection looks like the aftermath of a serious bar brawl. Jeans? No way. But for the first time this summer we have a weekend of upper 90 degree temps and I can break out a sundress. I went an entire day with no need to nap yesterday. Baby steps worthy of celebration.

 

 

7 comments on “Breast Cancer, Ovarian Cancer and no more Spanx

  1. ovaries and tubes gone here, too. tissue expanders still. some pain today. back to physical work. some days I just hurt. hope you are well.

  2. Heather says:

    Hi I’m Heather! Please email me, I have a question about your blog! LifesABanquet1(at)gmail.com

Leave a Reply

