BRCA Surgeries: Doing the BSO Happy Dance

One week ago today I said farewell to my ovaries and tubes in addition to completing revisions on the breast reconstruction surgery I had in January. Today it is official. The pathology report confirms all tissues were normal. No sign of cancer.

Here is how my Mom and sister reacted:

My family does their version of the Happy Dance.

This month marks fourteen years for me as a breast cancer survivor. Had I known my BRCA status sooner, I’d have had these surgeries years ago. I’ve been holding my breath since last Fall, hoping beyond hope that I had not waited too long.

Here is how my guy feels about this fabulous news:

James does the Seahawk version of the Happy Dance.

And me? Well, it took a while for it to sink in and although I feel so very lucky, I also feel sad. I’m sad for other family members who have not dodged the cancer bullet. I’m sad for those who do not wish to take the genetic testing that might save their lives although I understand why and respect that choice. I’m sad that I had to lose both breasts, even if they were big, saggy and lopsided from radiation treatment.

I know these feelings are temporary and I have not recovered from last week’s surgery yet. It won’t be long until I feel more like myself again:

My Happy Dance at the Wild Walla Walla Wine Woman Shop.

2 comments on “BRCA Surgeries: Doing the BSO Happy Dance

  1. decisionsformyfamily says:

    I am so happy to hear about the pathology results! Congratulations and enjoy life with one less worry!

  2. Lee Asbell says:

    Thank you very much!

Leave a Reply

