Moving On

Blogging about the world of BRCA decisions, surgeries and recovery has been good for me. Now it is time for a new chapter in life, in more ways than one.

Recently my spouse and I made a huge decision. We are going to relocate to Green Valley, Arizona. Jim will continue to work for a few more years, but all he needs is to be close to an airport now that his accounts are spread out all over the country. We are going to build a new home in a community that should suit us nicely today and in retirement. After fourteen years in our present home and decades in the Pacific Northwest it is time for a change.

Change is hard even when it is good.

The house I live has been my home for longer than anywhere I have ever lived. I will miss this beautiful place. Last week our handyman discovered the crawl space under the house had been invaded by raccoons who destroyed virtually all of the insulation. Just to keep the party lively, a couple of squirrels and some mice joined in to add to the mess. Guys in hazmat suits will invade my crawl space for three days to repair the damage, remove the carcasses and piles of poop. Oy!

Today we bid farewell to the oldest of our three cats. We have known for some time this was coming. Not that it makes things any easier. Just less of a shock. Another big change. I am crying as I write this.

Time to move on.

I will see the medical tattoo artist on the 24th and that will be the very last step in the lengthy process of breast reconstruction. No doctors or other medical types for a while. That is a very welcome change indeed.

20130403-165149.jpg
Count Catula loved to cook himself in front of the fire.

7 comments on “Moving On

  1. decisionsformyfamily says:

    I am sorry to hear about your loss. Good luck on your move, enjoy the warm sun!

  2. Lee Asbell says:

    Thanks, Christine!

  3. I am so sorry for your loss. And I wish you well on your new journey!

  4. As a fellow BRCA carrier I just want to say how much I enjoy reading your blog all the way from Milton Keynes, England! Please keep blogging, even if not about that subject :) xx

  5. Susie says:

    Can I just say what a comfort to find an individual who actually knows what they are talking about on the internet.
    You actually know how to bring a problem to light and make it important.
    A lot more people must read this and understand this side of
    the story. I can’t believe you are not more popular since you
    certainly have the gift.

  6. Lee Asbell says:

    WTF?

Leave a Reply

